Go Pet Friendly

Neater Feeder Review and Give-Away

When you live in a really small space, as we do, you have to be ruthless when weighing the convenience of a thing against the amount of room that it takes up.

Buster and Neater Feeder When I first pulled the Neater Feeder out of the box, I was pretty confident it wasn’t going to be with us for long. It comes in various sizes, of course, but our big oafs required the large. (Why were we not Chihuahua people??) The large Neater Feeder measures 21 inches wide by 13 inches deep, and is 17.5 inches high. That’s a lot of square footage for us!

However, in the ongoing battle to keep the Winnebago from resembling a post-drinking-and-eating pig sty, we were losing. And Buster’s drinking and eating habits were not helping.

Many of you know we feed the boys a dehydrated diet from The Honest Kitchen. Reconstituted it’s the consistency of oatmeal, and our dogs are copious about getting every last morsel. Ty – who avoids puddles like the plague and wouldn’t eat a treat if it were on the floor beyond the commonly accepted 5 second rule – never makes a mess. But, Buster is a completely different story.

Before the Neater Feeder, I would put Buster’s bowl on the floor and he would “chase” it around. Up against the sofa, along the cabinets, under the dinette. You could easily follow the trail marked by dog food that had rubbed off along the way. And his drinking problem was even worse!

Water bowlBuster is often overcome with concern that he might be missing out on something – especially when he’s getting a drink of water. He laps up a bit and then suddenly spins around to see what we’re doing, spraying water all over. When he discovers all is as he left it, he goes back to get a drink, and the entire scenario plays out again. If we were on a boat, I’d be concerned that one day he might sink us. The best solutions we’d come up with was to keep the water bowl in our shower.

And then the Neater Feeder arrived – and the boys seemed to like it.

Ty and Buster with the Neater Feeder

How it Works

Here’s a diagram from the Neater Feeder website showing the design features:

Neater Feeder Diagram In most households you’d probably have one Neater Feeder for each dog, but our boys share this one quite nicely. At feeding time, Buster eats with his bowl in the stand – keeping his mess to a minimum – and Ty gets his bowl over by his bed. During the day, we fill both bowls with water and they can get a drink at the same time. The raised sides minimize Buster’s puddles, and if we spill a bit as we’re driving down the road, the lower reservoir saves our floors.

4 PawsWe give the Neater Feeder 4 paws out of four. Despite my initial impression, we love it. The stainless steel bowls and durable construction mean that it will last a long time, and cleaning it is much easier than wiping up the food and water mess we used to have. As I mentioned, they come in various sizes and they also make a version for cats!

Ranging in price from $35 to $66, depending on size, you can order your Neater Feeder on the company’s website – or win one here!

Enter to Win a Neater Feeder

The contest is now closed.

Contest Rules

The contest runs from 10am EST May 2, 2011 to 11:59 pm EST May 6, 2011. This contest is only open to US  and Canadian residents over the age of 18. All contest entries will be assigned a number and the winning number will be picked by www.randomizer.org. We will contact the winner by email no later than Wednesday, May 11th, 2011. The decision of the judges is final. The winner has 3 days to claim the prize. If the prize is not claimed by the winner within 3 days, an alternate winner will be chosen from the pool of entries. The winner of the prize is responsible for any and all applicable taxes on the prize. Employees and relatives of GoPetFriendly.com are ineligible to enter the contest.

Disclosure: We were sent two large Neater Feeders for free. We did not receive payment for this review, and the opinions expressed here are my honest assessment of the product based on our personal experience using it.

Planning a pet friendly trip of your own? We’ll make it easy:
Pet Friendly Hotels | Pet Friendly Destinations | Pet Friendly Activities

Comments

Comment Archive

Amy@GoPetFriendly Jun 3, 2011 at 4:39 am
Thank you for your comment, Holly. Unfortunately, this contest ran last month and the winner has already received the Neater Feeder. It sounds like Sadie could really use one - it's helped us a lot in cleaning up after Ty and Buster.
Holly C Jun 2, 2011 at 9:01 pm
Sadie is a 3 1/2 yr. old Old English Bulldog.  She came to live with us a month ago after being surrendered to the local Pet Rescue.  She's notorius for snoring, snorting, slurping and slobbering oh and did I mention drooling.   Sadie being who she is needs an elevated food and water dish.  She eats special bulldog formula food with a unique shape to aid in chewing and swallowing.  This pampered pooch REALLY needs a Neater Feeder or this new Mama  is going to go nuts trying to stay one step ahead of her and keep things clean and tidy! holly.caulfield@gmail.com
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 10, 2011 at 2:51 am
Poor Prince! I'm so sorry he's chewing on his ears. =(
cstironkat May 6, 2011 at 4:22 pm
Milele makes such a mess when she eats. One of her favorites is too put the food on the floor and then eat it. If she doesn't eat it all, we step on it which makes an even bigger mess.
Gabriellegianella May 6, 2011 at 2:29 pm
I have two long eared sloppy basset hounds. They are messy eaters and leave bits of food everywhere! I would Love a neater eater!
Jackie_Drake May 6, 2011 at 2:12 pm
Prince needs a neater feeder because he is the biggest slob! Yesterday when I concealed his pill in cheese he got blobs of cheese stuck in his droopy ears and greasy cheese on the rug. Then he tried to chew the cheese out of his ear hairs and just chewed off a lot of hair! Help!
WiseOwlDesigns May 6, 2011 at 4:17 am
We have the messiest little doggie on the planet, i think. He likes to scarf down his food and in the process gets it all over the floor. I am sweeping up after him daily because we constantly step on the kibbles on the floor. His water dish is a nightmare as well. He gets it all over the floor that we had to put a mat under it so he didn't slop it all over. This would help cut down on my sweeping twice a day majorly! wiseowldesignsinc at gmail dot com
Diane Baum May 6, 2011 at 1:53 am
Our ms Mitzi needs to be a neater eater, cause now we have a colony of pet ants that come for her spills-double yeak
Moonshine8298 May 5, 2011 at 6:35 pm
Im glad to hear there is hope he can grow out of it...so far at least hes trained to bring it back...one step at a time!
sonrivangel May 5, 2011 at 6:16 pm
My puppy needs a neater feeder! He is all brown in color except for his white beard that soaks up water every time he drinks and if he eats food after drinking water sometimes both food and water are everywhere...a neater feeder would solve our problem!!! sonrivangel@gmail.com
Brigitte W. May 5, 2011 at 5:15 pm
Yoshi would love a Neater Feeder - with his flatter shih-tzu face, he can't help but practically stick is whole face (hair and all) in the bowls, and water ends up all over the place. The added height would also help to ease neck strain!
Cole Deby May 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm
We have a 4 year old Boxer & wanted to get him a playmate so we bought a german sheperd mix he is now 5 months old & bigger than out boxer. We have water EVERYWHERE. When our 5 month old drinks he leaves half of it ALL over the floor. This is why we need a NEATER FEEDER. cole.deby@gmail.com
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 5, 2011 at 12:56 am
You're welcome! Buster used to love to play with his bowl too. Thank goodness he out grew that or we would have had a really big mess in the Winnebago!
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 5, 2011 at 12:54 am
Your poor chihuahua! That's too funny.
eveangel24 May 4, 2011 at 11:39 pm
I recently saved a puppy from the shelter and now he is 8 months old and 55lbs, he is a very lovable pup and gets along well with my chihuahua however my poor little chihuahua went from walking right over the puppy to now walking under him =D Now that he is much bigger he tends to drool over and on the chihuahua, poor guy!!! Help me save my chihuahua from drowning!!! hahaha! thank you for this chance for a neater feeder! eveangel24@msn.com
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 4, 2011 at 9:51 pm
Flying water bowls?!? And I thought my boys needed the Neater Feeder - you really need it!
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 4, 2011 at 9:49 pm
You know, hiring Buster and your dog out as sprinklers is a darn good idea! It wouldn't hurt them to earn their keep. **** I just ran the idea by Buster. He doesn't think it's going to work out. Something about interfering with nap time.
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 4, 2011 at 9:47 pm
Cleaner chaos is my favorite kind of chaos. =D
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 4, 2011 at 9:46 pm
BOL! I think Roxxy has better manners than me! I'm more of a wolf-it-down kind of girl. =) And, how funny that your Italian Greyhound is the messy one - I never would have guessed.
Moonshine8298 May 4, 2011 at 9:01 pm
My puppy loves taking and carrying his bowl. He tries to play with it by with me, having me sort of chase his for it. But so far he is trained to bring it back, so we can feed him, but I don't like that he moves it often =), besides the moving of the bowl, he dribbles water and since his bowls are in the kitchen where grandma cooks, i always worry that she might slip on one of his unexpected spills. Safety first for grams and puppy... moonshine8298@gmail.com **Thanks for this opportunity!!!
Mami2jcn May 4, 2011 at 4:18 pm
Our puppy needs a neater feeder because I have enough cleaning up to do with 2 older sons and a toddler daughter! It would be great to have a neater feeding area for our puppy. mami2jcn at gmail dot com
Steffi Diem May 4, 2011 at 2:39 pm
We have three dogs who love to throw water everywhere when they drink. Drives me crazy because we have hardwood floors. So glad to hear about this product - looks like it just might be the thing to save our floors! sjdiem (at) gmail. com
Ruth D May 4, 2011 at 5:00 am
Roxxy, our 85lb rottie/chow mix is refined and chews her food 26 times but she slurps her water all over the place. Lola, our Italian Greyhound looks refined but is a pig in disguise. She's a head down eater and food goes everywhere. She usually cleans up after herself with a little prodding but boy, she is a slob!
Bindidog1 May 4, 2011 at 2:06 am
My Great Pyrenees, Bindi, thinks it her job to make the biggest mess possible when she eats! I have actually had to scrape and repaint the wall behind her dish because of the food/water mixture that somehow ends up on it. Not only is she great at spilling/drooling everything from her mouth, she never fails to knock over her water with her tail. (Right after I fill it, of course!) To top it all off, my foster dog Murphy has to try and sneak Bindi's food when she is not looking which causes all sorts of commotion with dogs chasing dogs and anything in the way getting knocked over. The best part is that I love every moment of it!! Couldn't imagine my life without all the chaos, but it would be awesome to just be able to have a little cleaner chaos!!
Kayte L May 3, 2011 at 11:35 pm
my dog loves to lap up water, and will drink the bowl dry every time she starts drinking it. unfortunately, the bowl may be dry at the end of it... but the floor is soaked. i think she would acctually make an efficient sprinkler. it's either a Neater Feeder, or i'm going to plant grass under her bowls!
Kayte L May 3, 2011 at 11:35 pm
my dog loves to lap up water, and will drink the bowl dry every time she starts drinking it. unfortunately, the bowl may be dry at the end of it... but the floor is soaked. i think she would acctually make an efficient sprinkler. it's either a Neater Feeder, or i'm going to plant grass under her bowls!
Debra May 3, 2011 at 10:44 pm
It is my fosters that are the problem. Seems they never had the opportunity to eat from a bowl before. If they are not flipping the bowl, they are playing in the water or food bowls. Having one large neater feeder would be great for for these guys to use while they are with me. Since I mostly do larger dogs during the year (aside from the shepherd and sheltie I took this winter), my border collie/pibble mix would enjoy it the rest of the year and probably fear the sneaky chihuahua much less. (The chi likes to steal food while the bigger dogs are eating politely. The height of this feeder would solve that problem, too. :0)
Heather Sullivan May 3, 2011 at 10:30 pm
We have 2 pitbulls and when they get water to drink its seems as if 80% of it lands on the floor. It is a constant battle to keep the floor dry. When they eat they like to leave pieces on the floor. I dont know why but they do. Wiping up water and picking up food would be eliminated if we had the Neater Feeder. It would be a blessing. Thanks for a great invention.
Christa Stevenson11 May 3, 2011 at 10:27 pm
I need one to keep my new wood floors in good shape :) plus, my energetic pit bull gets food and water everywhere! Christa.stevenson11@comcast.net. Thanks!
Rita May 3, 2011 at 10:18 pm
Oh- how my wood floors would love it if we had a Neater Feeder- they are full of drip marks from the jowls of both our Labs- please consider us!
Bailey May 3, 2011 at 6:41 pm
I am wondering if this would solve our water problem. When they get excited we have flying water bowls. Food hasn't been such a big issue, but it would be wonderful to get something to stabilize water.
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 3, 2011 at 4:18 pm
Rori - you really have to get a video of this! You might even want to send it to The Honest Kitchen - they may use it in their promotions - "meal rolls" sound absolutely hilarious! =D
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 3, 2011 at 4:16 pm
She sounds a lot like Buster! The raised sides on the Neater Feeder really do help keep the walls dry.
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 3, 2011 at 4:15 pm
It's so funny the things that our pets do! It cracks me up that Earl still bends over to put his food on the floor. Goofy animals!
Mommajo May 3, 2011 at 3:49 pm
I just chuckled while reading your description of your messy eater/drinker! Our 6 year old Newfie, Lola, has the slurp-turn-splatter-drool habit too! She also drops food out of her mouth around her dish, into her water, etc. The Neater Feed sounds like a Godsend!! I'd love to win one!!
Michele C. Hollow May 3, 2011 at 1:21 pm
We have one too. What I like about it is that Earl is 17 years old. While he is in great shape for his age, he doesn't have to bend down too far to eat because the Neater Feeder is raised. And while it does keep the area neat, Earl still takes his food out of the bowl and tends to put it on the floor! I have a car mat type rug under the feeder to keep the area neat. It's a great tool--and very easy to clean.
Ronda May 3, 2011 at 3:55 am
Bella our Great Dane is wonderful but a messy drinker. She has a elevated feeder due to her size but that doesn't help with the water. While she is drinking, she splashes water all over the walls, and then she lifts her head up and water drips all over her and the floor. I sure do love her but boy is she messy! ;-) -Ronda & Jeremy- crazyronda316@msn.com
Rori May 3, 2011 at 2:06 am
While Abby handles feeding time with crazy-i-want-my-raw-diet-the-honest-kitchen-now aplomb, Jake is another story. Ok, maybe he's not the messiest in the world - he wouldn't mind demonstrating - he is a goofball eater who will not only chase his food around the room, he'd rather be active while eating. This is not good nor healthy for him. He gets a bit crazy to the point of "meal rolls" (he's rolling around the floor), will occasionally take a little walk around the room, he also likes to visit Abby's bowl - with her being blind now, that can be a bit of a challenge. We've gotten to the point with their passion over their new raw/The Honest Kitchen diet that we have to literally dole out food one spoon full at a time to keep them from going nutty... Then theres the water... A feline loves to bath in the bowls which then requires constant cleaning. And while Abby likely couldn't use the larger bowl, it would allow Jake to have something special at his height - feline free. This product, and the boy's endorsement, is just the ticket. For Jake's health it also would allow him to eat in the safer, standing position - we were told by a vet that dogs that eat too fast or play too much and larger dogs who can have stomach issues - will eat in a healthier manner with such a raised bowl. We found this to be true with our German Shepard, Bailey, several years ago. Jake would love such a special eating platform!
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 2, 2011 at 11:34 pm
Stephanie, it sounds like Bella definitely needs the Neater Feeder. The mess from switching from one bowl to the other would be eliminated, and it should catch most of the "less desirable" pieces before they hit the floor. Good luck!
Stephanie Timmons May 2, 2011 at 11:14 pm
Bella, my 2 year old purebred yellow lab has zero manners when it comes to eating. I fill her bowl, she noses around it and finally begins to chow down. While scarfing down her food she alternates from bowl to bowl, water to food, food to water. In this process, water and food particles drip all over the floor, leaving a gooey, stinky mess for her mommy to clean up. Bella is also a very picky eater. She will nose through her dinner and choose her favorite bits of food to eat, pushing the least preferred bits out of the bowl and onto the floor. She then will lick the bowl clean but will leave the least preferred pieces of food on the floor for mommy to step on in the middle of the night! Bella's brother Taz (my Blue Russian cat) has also been drinking out of her water bowl, which she isn't happy about at all since it is in his reach!
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 2, 2011 at 10:37 pm
He sound like a very energetic eater! =)
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 2, 2011 at 10:37 pm
It's our pleasure!
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 2, 2011 at 10:36 pm
Awwwe, that brings back happy memories - the first Shar-pei that I had with Rod was a dripper and we kept a towel by his bowls. Every time he got a drink, I'd wipe his face. After a while he got so used to it that he'd stand there waiting for me to come dry is face, and if I wasn't paying attention he'd just lay down right in front of his bowl and wait for me. He was a great dog!
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 2, 2011 at 10:33 pm
That's too funny! I hope you get a picture of him standing in the bowls and post it on our Facebook page for an additional entry!
Amy@GoPetFriendly May 2, 2011 at 10:28 pm
Wow, it sounds like Cooper really knows what he likes and you really need a Neater Feeder!
Rljames3 May 2, 2011 at 8:56 pm
Cooper is very picky about what he eats and likes to go thru the bowl picking out all the good stuff first. Then he will come back and start on the 2nd best and so forth. By the time he is full the food is every where. Cooper eats The Honest Kitchen food also so depending on how hungry he is determines how big a mess he makes. The James Gang rljames3@gmail.com
LyzaJo Jorgensen May 2, 2011 at 6:03 pm
My dog has a beard. And every time he takes a drink, he drips. And his food area...well, let's just say that's a disaster too! He will put his whole face into the bowl and then manage to tip it over...or spread kibbles on the floor! Please help. We need a NEATER FEEDER! Submitted by LyzaJo Jorgensen elizabeth.jorgensen@gmail.com
Murphy May 2, 2011 at 5:15 pm
Riley is a great dog but drools and generally is mess maker. He's a pit, chow and lab mix but he's a real sweet heart. Trying to contain his mess is always a problem. I always have a towel near his food and water bowl so I can wipe as he throws.
brandee cole-aldrich May 2, 2011 at 5:03 pm
we just got a puppy who is a labrador retriever/blue heeler mix & he is 7 weeks old & LOVES 2 eat & nearly take a bath every time he drinks ;O). he LOVED picking up & carrying around & then chewing on his original plastic bowls, the stainless steel ones that we've gotten help him 2 not do that though he does LOVE standing in both the water & food bowls when he eats thus a kibbled & wet floor & puppy... having a feed stand like this may not only help him but help the poor floor & wall as well, lol
Jody Vernay May 2, 2011 at 4:53 pm
woo hoo ! Thanks for the opportunity to win a Neater Feeder!! What a great design!I